Strange Lovers Pt 4

She told me to forget about the text messages. “I have agreed to your proposal, so what else do you want?” she asked. I told her not to worry about that, and that I only wanted to satisfy my curiosity. Although I had planned to never ask her about the text messages again, I really wanted to know what she wrote. But my phone. I still couldn’t find it. I asked her to call my number to see if someone would answer it. She did call, but sadly, the phone was switched off. I knew definitely that my phone was gone for good. Someone had stolen it. What I couldn’t understand was when exactly my phone was stolen. I became very sad. She consoled me. She gave me a hug. She kissed me. She even made me sit on her laps for some time.
She pampered me that evening. She treated me like her own child. She made me forget about my missing phone. She made me forget about the messages. She made me forget about everything. My attention was now on her. Her thoughts now consumed my mind. I couldn’t think about anything else. I thought she would stay for the night. I thought she would lie down beside me throughout the night. I needed her more than any other person. But she told me she was leaving. She had to leave because she doesn’t want us to “cross the line.” I didn’t want to cross the imaginary line, but at the same time, I wanted to. I tried to convince her to stay for the night.‪

But she didn’t stay. I practically begged her, but she refused to stay. Well, I didn’t have any choice than to let her go. She left me. Alone in the room. But come to think of it, she didn’t say much about my missing phone. Did she know anything about it? Was I being too judgmental? Well, I didn’t want to spoil my happy mood. She had finally accepted to marry. What was now left is the preparation. I need to go and see my family first thing in the morning. I would tell my boss later when I return. I knew he would be very pissed, but hey, I have a thick skin.‪

Now I didn’t have a phone. I needed to buy a new one. Money wasn’t much of a problem. I had saved enough money to even buy 50 phones at a spot. Oh yes. I’m not exaggerating. That’s the gospel truth. I went to a shop nearby and got myself one of the latest smartphones. I didn’t want to be seen with any ‘yam’ phone, especially when I’m about to marry. I had planned to visit my parents that morning, but I changed my mind. I wanted to know more about my lady first,before I break the news to them.‪#‎to_be_continued
I also went to replace my lost chip. Now, I was free to call her. I dialled her number, but it was switched off. I tried again. Same results. I tried an hour later. Same results. Wow, what could be the problem? I knew she had a power bank. In fact, she had three so her phone never went off. So many thoughts came to mind. Positive and negative. All these thoughts were in connection with where my lady was. Where my baby dey?‪

After work, I decided to go to her house and check up on her. I got there, but her door was locked. I knocked and knocked and knocked. No reply came. I tried calling her line, but I couldn’t reach her. I became worried. I started getting some fearful thoughts in my head, but I quickly discarded them. There wasn’t even a lizard in the house to ask about the whereabouts of my lady. Usually by that time, you would find people in the house, but at that particular time and day, there wasn’t any one. I decided to go back home, and come and check later. On my way home, I heard on the radio that someone had been killed the night before.‪

The taxi driver had just tuned to that station, and all I could hear the presenter say was that a lady had been killed and dumped into a river. The river was a bit closer to my area. I didn’t want to believe it was my lady. The more I tried not to think about the news, the harder it screamed in my head. I decided to go to the river to verify.‪

I asked the taxi driver to take me to the river side. He drove me there quickly. We got there a bit too late, because the police had come for the body. I was lucky to find one man who knew where exactly the were taking the dead body to. Since the taxi driver was still with me, I asked him to take me to the mortuary. I didn’t like the idea of going to the mortuary, but I had no choice. I wanted to be sure it wasn’t my lady.‪

It took us close to 45mins to get to the mortuary. I told the driver to wait for me. I wasn’t really feeling good about that, but I had to go. I just couldn’t stand the thought of going inside there to see dead bodies. I was very disturbed. I was so afraid. I was so shaken. Just when I was about to open the gate to enter the mortuary, the taxi driver called me.‪

The taxi driver told me someone was calling me on my phone. I didn’t even realize I had left my phone in the taxi. He gave me my phone, and guess who it was? Her. My lady. My better half to be. I was shocked. She called me honey, but I wasn’t sure if it was a dream or it was a reality. So I had been chasing a wrong corpse? Hmmm. She told me she was at my house waiting for me, so I should come home.‪

I asked the taxi driver to take me home. At that point, I didn’t know who to blame. Who else could I blame but myself. I was just impatient. I could have waited for a while, but I didn’t. I assumed something bad had happened to her. I concluded she had been killed and dumped into a river. I assumed I had lost her forever. I became angry at myself. Why did I entertain all these bad thoughts? But come to think of it, I didn’t ask her where she had been and what happened to her phone. I planned to do that immediately I got home. The driver drove me home safely. I paid him Gh150 and he left. Surprisingly, I met my lady at the gate of my house. She was very furious. She thought I had gone to see someone (a lady, I guess).‪

I was furious. She was very furious. We couldn’t make any good communication with anger. There had to be a compromise. I needed to know where she had been. I needed to tell her what I had been through because of her. She also wanted to know where I had been. Why I had left her to wait for me in my house. I just didn’t know how to start to explain things. I had to concede. I had to apologize. After all, they say you can never win an argument with a lady.‪

Now, I had to cool her temper. Now, I had to apologize. Now, I had to put whatever I had been through behind me. It was a tough decision to make, but I had no other choice, unless maybe I wanted her to leave me for good. I had come so far to let that small issue break our relationship. I managed to cool her. She accepted my apology. She gave me a smile, a kiss and ermmmmmmm the other one. I forgot about all I had been through that day. Surprisingly, she asked me where I had been. I thought she told me to spare her my explanation, so what did she want to know now?‪

I found that as an opportunity to win her sympathy, so I told her everything that I had been through that day because of her. I spiced my story a little. She broke down into tears. She was shocked I had been through all that because of her. She was too pleased. She gave me a hug. A long and tight one. She was still weeping uncontrollably.I had to console her.She told me because of what I had been through, she wouldn’t go back that night. She would pass the night there. She even told me if I wanted to “cross the line”, she was ever ready to do that.
Like seriously? She had given me free scholarship? Wow! How I had waited for that opportunity. Here it was now. Should I do it or not? Could it be that she was trying to test me? Could she be telling me the truth? Could I even do it? Looking at what I had been through that day?‪

I told her I was going to take a shower. I went to the bathroom still contemplating on the offer. Should I do it, or stop. What if I didn’t perform well? I finally took a decision. My decision was that I wouldn’t do it. After my shower she also went to take hers. She came back. I went out. She changed. She went to lie on my bed. I came in, and she invited me to join her on the bed.‪
#to_be_continued
image

Leave a Reply

