Strange Lovers Pt 3

My plan was to take money from her on my return home, since I didn’t have enough money on me. Due to the negative answer she gave me, I didn’t even bother to ask her for money. I was so furious, so disappointed and so ashamed. How could she tell me that she won’t marry me? Why would she even let me waste my time, money, attention and everything on her, if she had planned not to marry me? Since I didn’t have money on me, I decided to walk to my house. It was a 1 hour 30mins walk to my house. It was a tedious work walking such a distance to my house, but I didn’t give a hoot.I felt nothing more painful and shameful as being rejected by the one you love. On my way home, she started calling me on my phone. I didn’t pick the call. I switched off my phone.‪

I got home very tired. It was almost 10pm. I switched on my phone. Shockingly, I received avalanche of messages from her. About 50 text messages or so. I refused to read even one of them. I didn’t want to have anything to do with her. Once she had decided not to marry me, then that was  it.‪
Early next morning while I was preparing for work, I heard someone knocking at the door. I walked to the door. I opened my door gently. Guess who was there? Yeah, you guessed right. It was her. She looked pale. She looked disturbed. She looked worried. Her face looked like she’d not slept for days. She wanted to tell me something. At least I should give her just 5mins. I was also getting late. I can’t lose my lover and job. So I told her to meet me at a restaurant nearby, at exactly 5pm so that I can listen to her explanation.‪

I got to the restaurant before 5pm. I knew she would never  be there before me, and I didn’t want her to get there before me but this time, she proved me wrong. She was already seated calmly. I went to her, greeted her and sat down. “Do you care for anything?” she asked. “water will be okay for now” I replied. She seemed well composed, calm and collected. The waiter brought the water and took our order. I had lost my appetite, but I chose banku and okro stew. She also chose the same food. While we were waiting for the order, we started talking. I was tensed. She was relaxed. She asked me about the numerous text messages she sent me. She told me to give her my reply.‪

Text message?”, I asked her. She looked puzzled.”You mean you didn’t receive a single of the text messages I sent you?” She asked. I lied to her that I never received any message. I was still angry, although I tried to cover my anger with a forced smile. I had planned to read the messages at the restaurant before she got there but my plan didn’t succeed. She asked me to give my phone to her, to really check if I didn’t receive the messages. I declined to give my phone to her. The food arrived, and we started eating. I  couldn’t eat much. The fear of what the text messages were containing even worsened the case. She also couldn’t eat much of her favorite dish. She told me if I didn’t get the text messages, then she’ll be in my house at 8:30pm, to tell me. She stood up, took her bag and went without even saying a good bye. The waiter brought the bill and I paid. I left the restaurant and went home to prepare for the second coming of my lady.‪

I took a taxi home. I opened my door and went inside. Took a shower. Came back to my room to finally read the messages. I looked into my pocket, but the phone wasn’t there. I searched my bag, I couldn’t find it. Ei, as3m nie? I combed through my room but couldn’t find the phone. I went outside to check. Nothing was there. At this time, I had come to the realization that my phone was really gone. I heard someone calling my name, “KD, KD” outside. That voice was familiar. I went outside to check, and it was her. I invited her in. She sat down. I gave her water to drink. I asked her about her mission.‪

She started by saying she was sorry for what happened yesterday. She didn’t mean to hurt me, and that I should have allowed her to finish her statement. “But you said No, so there wasn’t the need to wait for any lecture from you.” I retorted. She further explained that she was just kidding. She wanted to test me. Test me? Like seriously? If she would joke with everything, it shouldn’t be this. I accepted her apology, but ordered her to plant a kiss on my forehead before. She did that readily, and in addition, she gave me a deep kiss which lasted for God knows how long. After that I asked her again if she would marry me.‪

She stood there for some seconds, and asked me if I really meant what I was saying. I vehemently told her yes. She again asked me if I didn’t read even one of the numerous messages she sent me. Again, I told her I didn’t read. “If indeed you didn’t read the messages, then I will marry you”, she said. I didn’t really understand what she meant by that. What could be in this text message? Was it something serious? Was it so bad? Should I just tell her to hold on until I have found my phone, and read the messages? I became very confused. I asked her to tell me what she sent me.‪
#to_be_continued
image

Leave a Reply

