Strange Lovers Pt 2

The next day, I was waiting for ECG to bring back my light, but it never came. I got so frustrated. So annoyed. So disappointed. I didn’t want to give a breathing space to my new found love. I wanted to build upon what I achieved last night. But “dumsor” spoiled my plans. I had to find a place to charge my phone. I went to a friend’s house in the same neighborhood. Luckily for me, they had light. I quickly put my phone on charge, and sat down to chat with my friend. I didn’t want to tell him about my new found love. I didn’t trust him anymore. I didn’t want him to snatch this lady too away, like he did to me the other time. About an hour later, ECG took their light also. But that time, my phone’s battery had had enough bars. I quickly unplugged my phone, bid him good bye and left for my house. I replied her message.‪

I tried to make the message short and yet somewhat romantic. The message read, “Hi sweet honey, I’m sure you are dying to hear from me. Blame the delay on ECG. I hope to hear from you, right after work. Take care, my one and only.” I sat down quietly hoping and praying to get a call from her, or at least a message. My worst fear came to pass. She neither called nor sent me a message. I became depressed, stressed and disappointed.‪

At exactly 6:45pm, she called me. I was furious and yet happy to get her call. I didn’t know how I was able to experience these two opposing emotions simultaneously.But her voice. Oh that sweet voice. That soothing voice. It calmed me down. It opened a new chapter in my not-so-experienced romantic life. She was my first. I was her first too. Ermmmmmmm that’s what she made me understood. I loved her so much so that even when she was hurting me, I couldn’t see. That evening too we enjoyed our conversation. Our love was gradually growing.‪

The usual romantic chat and text messages went on for minutes, hours, days, weeks, months and a year. By that time, we had learned so much about ourselves. We knew practically everything about ourselves. But all these while I had not proposed marriages to her officially. I wanted to make it a historic one. I wanted to make it memorable. I wanted to make it special. I needed to plan.‪

Should we go on a weekend vacation to Dubai or maybe Bodwesango? Which one would be more romantic? I really had to make this work, no matter the cost. Hmmm… Why don’t I seek a professional advice from my Casanova friend? Yh, I’ll go to him for help.‪

I took my pen and paper and went straight to my friend’s house. I didn’t meet anyone there. Oops! Just when I was returning, my phone rung. Guess who? It was her. The one and only. My sweet honey.She wanted me to leave whatever I was doing and come straight to her house. I asked her why, but she refused to tell me anything. The voice tone couldn’t give me any clue. It was neither serious nor playful. I was left with a load of unanswered questions on my head. I didn’t wait for even a minute, but boarded a taxi to her house. I didn’t have enough money in my pocket though, but I managed to play smart with the taxi driver, by telling him I had lost my money. He let me go, but not until he had rained on me unprintable insults.‪

I got to her house at exactly 7:15pm. I knocked at her door, and she answered it almost immediately. She gave me a hug. She gave me a kiss. She also gave me ermmmmmmm, I can’t even spell that word. After that, we sat on a chair. I looked straight into her eyes. Those eyes never lied to me. The eyes spoke more than her lips did. I saw from her eyes that she wanted me. Just me. I also wanted her. I wanted her to be nobody’s darling but mine. I saw that very moment as a glorious opportunity to propose to her. So just as they do in those romantic movies, I got down on one knee and I asked her gently, “will you marry me?”‪

Her ceiling fan reduced it’s speed. ECG, has taken the light again. I was still on my knees waiting for her response. I was hoping for a positive answer. There was this loud silence that visited us in the room. It felt like the whole world had come to a standstill. Every activity in the area came to a halt, waiting anxiously to hear “Yes” or “No.” Was it even the right time to have done that? I knew she loved me, but would she agree to marry me and stay with me forever and ever? It would be a tough decision for her, I thought.‪

While I was still on my knees waiting for a positive response, I heard her crying? “Why are you crying sweetie?” I asked. But, she couldn’t talk. Her cry, became louder. It made me more confused and worried. Did I say something wrong? No. My words were harmless. So why is she crying and mourning?This was not what I had anticipated. I thought she would just say “Yes, yes, yes, I do” amidst smiles and laughter. But I’m seeing a direct opposite of what I had envisaged. She needs to tell me the answer no matter what. I can’t wait any longer. I asked her again, “honey, will you marry me?” This time, she stopped crying. The light came back. The ceiling fan started working. She looked straight into my eyes gave me that “what-the-hell-are-you-talking-about” look.‪

She made me more confused. She looked me straight in the eyes and told me “No, but…” I got up immediately, raised up my hand to indicate to her that I’m not interested in her explanation. I opened the door and went out. She called me. She screamed my name. She even tried to pull me by holding my shirt. None of these could stop me. I decided to walk out of her life. She stopped calling me and went back to her room crying.‪

image

Leave a Reply

