LETTER TO THE PRESIDENT

mahama

I am packing my bag and baggage to leave the shores of Ghana! Yes, I am going to a far away land, where I would not be promised honey, and given poison. Where I would enjoy the fruits of my labour, and not someone else. Oh yes, I’m leaving! But before I go, let me tell you what has catapulted me to take  such an impetuous decision. Maybe after reading this, you may join me.

I was promised by my ‘ever-humble-young’ president that Ghana will not experience this dum-so dum-so, again. What we are experiencing now is load shedding, or power rationing. The question I would like to ask my president is whether he is still on top of issues? Maybe I would have to tell him that I don’t have electricity in my house , so I am in my friend’s house right now, using his personal computer to type this. Even this is not helping, because the light keeps going off and on. How does my father work in such a situation? How does he pay his many employees? This is frustrating!

My tap has not been flowing for the past two months, yet, they gather the courage to bring me water bill.  What should I pay for? I guess for the poor services they have offered me. The monthly salary of the president has been increased to GH¢12,000 ($6,000) following an overwhelming endorsement of Parliament for salary rise for the executive arm of government.Ministers of State and their deputies are also to earn between GH¢8,000 and GH¢9000 respectively, just like presidential staffers and aides. Meanwhile, our doctors went on strike, our pharmacists are planning to go on strike, and our teachers too.

In case you have forgotten, Mr. President, I did not vote for you to stuff your pocket with my money. I voted for you because you promised to construct the road to my village, move my little brother who sits under an old tree to study, to a better classroom. Oh, you also promised to give me uninterrupted electricity and potable drinking water. How can I forget your quality education promise? You have not done all these, but you have increased your salary. Somebody should tell my president that, it is written in the Bible that, “The one who is unwilling to work shall not eat.” (2 Thessalonians 3:10, NIV).

I nearly got used to this unbearable situation, until the recent fuel increment. How do you expect us to survive with such inhumane treatment. Did we do anything wrong by voting for you? I don’t want to be too tough on you, Mr. President, but what has to be done, must be done first.

I know that the pressure on you right now is too much. Pressure from your political party, chiefs, social groups, workers, and most importantly, from the biggest opposition party in Ghana, the New Patriotic Party. I know that the NPP is challenging the election results at the Supreme court, but that does not mean that you cannot work. Do something about this, before things get out of hand. 

 A bird has whispered into my ears that the lights will go off any moment from now, so let me pause here, and continue some other time. So until then, I’m moving to a far away land!

110503-165311

The monthly salary of the president has been increased to GH¢12,000 ($6,000) following an overwhelming endorsement of Parliament for salary rise for the executive arm of government.

Ministers of State and their deputies are also to earn between GH¢8,000 and GH¢9000 respectively, just like presidential staffers and aides.

 

Leave a Reply

